Garrett Sawyer selected for interim 4th District School Board seat

May 15, 2024 | by

At a special meeting last night the RPS School Board interviewed the 12 candidates for the interim appointment to the 4th District School Board seat left vacant by the resignation of Jonathan Young, ultimately selecting Garrett Sawyer for the position.

The 12 candidates were:

  • Wesley Hedgepeth
  • George Braxton
  • Demetrios Axarlis
  • Chris Bacon
  • Willie Barley
  • Amber Brown
  • Sheron Carterā€Gunter
  • Angela Fontaine
  • Derek Redwine
  • Garrett Sawyer
  • Taylor Jeffrey
  • Albertina Walker

Three of the 12 candidates are listed on VPAP as candidates for the seat on the upcoming election (Angela Fontaine, Derek Starr Redwine, Garrett Sawyer), with a 4th having announced their intent to run (Wesley Hedgepeth).

Video of the meeting is available HERE on RPS Youtube.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *